pushing through

12179pushing_it

 

Thinking about writing, they say, is often more painful than just actually writing. I guess I have found this to be true. But I’m kind of like that with everything. From calling someone back to scrubbing the toilet, thinking about doing things often kills my projects before I’ve even picked up the phone/toilet brush/pen. If I have an excuse to get me out of writing, I’ll take. Want me to feed your lizard? Done! Want me to go with you to a True Blood convention? Sure! Need your living room painted? I’m your guy! Anything to avoid doing what I’m supposed to be doing. This personality trait made me the excellent addict you all know and love today. So surprisingly, this 30 Days of Blog has been incredibly helpful.

Don’t get me wrong. I write everyday. Usually its for clients and something of the stimulating copywriting variety. Yet its still writing and better yet– it pays me. This in itself is progress considering I went years while I was drinking where I couldn’t even get a word on a page. But blogging everyday for this here little bundle of hot-messiness has really been a great challenge. It’s really forced me to push on and keep writing when honestly all I’ve wanted to do is nap. “Did I write about this already?”, “Is this too whiny and self-involved (the answer to that is always yes by the way) and mainly “What the hell do I write about today?!?” are a few of the questions I have had to answer myself this month.But what I’ve discovered is it doesn’t matter. No, really. It doesn’t matter what I’m writing about as long as I keep writing and pushing through. Like recovery, 90% of my success is about showing up.If I don’t write everyday, I’ll never know what new project will appear to me. And if I don’t keep going I’ve already assumed none of it is worthwhile which I know in my heart not to be the truth.

So what if every post isn’t going to win a Pulitzer prize or if half of the damn things read like they were written underwater? The point is I did it and got it done. For a guy who tries to move as a little as possible and groans about working, this a victory indeed. Just so you know, I was kidding about painting your living room, by the way.

So friends, what helps you push through and keep going? What helps you stay inspired? Give me some pointers in the comments section, if you feel so inclined.

One thought on “pushing through

Leave a Reply

