prayers for the terminally self-involved (who are trying to be less so)

Prayer is an interesting topic. It’s a little like cooking a chicken. There’s a billion ways to do it and everybody has their favorite. I guess now would be the time to note that this is a spirituality post and not one about religion. Or cooking chicken for that matter. Although I could ramble about the latter for at least 10,00o words. (Book idea: Eat, Pray, Fry Chicken) Prayer or talking to God or communicating with the universe or whatever you wanna call it is an essential part fo me being less crazy. In the beginning of my sobriety, my prayers were of the “Please help me not drink” or “God, help me make it through today” variety. Today, it varies. I try to take 30 minutes to just hang out and be grateful and pray for people who need help. And most days I pray short little prayers all day long like:

Joan Rivers

“God please help me always remember between looking younger and looking scary.”

and

o_1365513683

“God give me the wisdom to delete bitchy or crazy emails/text messages BEFORE I send them.”

also…

hqdefault

“God help me be less judgmental. Even to myself.”

or one of my favorites is

can than trong kinh doanh_0

“God, help me help other people. Even I ones that make me crazy. Especially them.”

And lastly, this one works all day and rocks for its simplicity.

thankyou

After two decades of being a self-involved drunken drug addict, I need all the help I can get. Right now, I’ve got a lot of uncertainty going on with my health stuff and it is scary. But thanks to having a spiritual life, I’m totally okay. Yes, I’m scared. Yes, I feel crappy. But am I going to be alright? Totally. Time has proven that I can get through everything thanks to my version of God and some awesome people in my life.

Listen, I don’t know how this prayer things works and frankly I don’t need to know. I just know that it does. So, readers, I’ll make you a deal. I’ll throw some your way if your throw some my way and we’ll get through whatever together?

6 thoughts on “prayers for the terminally self-involved (who are trying to be less so)

  1. Prayer changes everything. I do the 3 – 7 – 11 shuffle every day. 3rd step prayer … 7th step Prayer … 11th step prayer … every day several times a day, ON your knees. Copy paste and set by the bed and the computer. So that you do it every day.

    J.

    • 3 7 and 11 is a good routine and my first sponsor had me memorize all of them in 2009. So no printing off necessary! At this point, I have developed a routine and I’m thankful for it. The prayers mentioned in post are more of my way to talk to god throughout the day. The great thing about prayer? There’s no wrong way to do it!

Comments are closed.