12 Days of Blogmas: Happy Holigays

Oh readers. Just when I think I couldn’t possibly love you more than I do, you surprise me by being totally amazing. Only you guys would make a post about a baseball star our most read of the year but have our second most popular post be about gay pride. Like I said, you guys are pretty special.

Rainbow-Christmas-Tree-1

The Last Time I Saw L.A. Gay Pride is our entry here on the 6th day of blogmas. And honestly I love that so many people read that post. “The first time I” or “the last time I” are great writing exercises I’ve picked up from different gurus and fabulous ways to start memoir-type of posts. So it being June at the time, I thought it was fitting to talk about my last time at Los Angeles Gay Pride. Over the years, the particular celebration in the super gayborhood of  West Hollywood served as the playground of a lot of drunken debauchery for this writer. What had escaped me for years about “gay pride” was the second word of that phrase. Feeling proud of myself, liking myself, loving myself were things I couldn’t wrap my mind around regardless of how many parades I sat through. Maybe others could identify with that sentiment and that’s why this post was popular or maybe it had more to do with the fuzzy pink booty shorts. silly-gay-men

Whatever the case, I’m thrilled people read and comment on anything thing I write and I’m proud of this funny post and yeah, today I’m even proud of myself too. Talk about a holiday miracle. Let’s journey back to the magical month of June together, shall we?  And celebrate the 6th day of Blogmas with The Last Time I Saw Gay Pride. 

And if you are still looking for a festive –and cheap- gift for readers on your list, my holiday story A Tough Cookie Christmas is available now at SmashWords!

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Blogmas: Happy Holigays

  1. Thanks for festooning my whole year with your garland and gems. That’s garland you’re wearing as a boa, isn’t it? Anyway, it’s been a joy to the world to have you in mine. I squish your noggin in my powerful biceps, Love, Marius

  2. I don’t remember the last time I went to a Pride Event here in Montreal. years and years ago. It’s good for a little ass and campy drag queens and burly leather men. These days I stay away from Pride – I am not 21 with cheek of tan any more and I guess that keeps me in.

    It’s good to revisit to tell us where we are and where we are going. I do things differently now a days. It’s been a long time since my last drink. But stories rise up every once in a while and I collect them on the blog. The things we did when we were much younger and considerably more stupid.

    Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.