Inspiration for August 23rd: Gene Kelly

Happy 100th birthday, Gene Kelly!

As an old movie lover, nobody quite personifies joy in every sense of the word like Gene Kelly does. I dare you to watch Singing in the Rain and feel miserable. It’s impossible and Kelly is a big reason why you can’t stop smiling during that film.  Not only do viewers love watching him dance but chances are good by the end of the film they are head over heels in love with him by the end of the movie.

A normal, hard working guy from Pittsburgh, Gene Kelly’s strong work ethic and kindness are legendary. While reading about Kelly today, I learned that he worked overtime to help an ailing Judy Garland when they filmed Summer Stock together. But according to everything I’ve ever heard, that was just how Gene Kelly rolled. He was by all accounts committed to doing his best on film and helping others. Those are good traits to remember today and things for me to keep in mind as I carry on during this Thursday. But mainly Gene Kelly reminds me to dance and infuse my every moment with as much joy as I can find.

But that’s enough out of me. Let’s have Gene show us how it’s done:

Leave a Reply

