Inspiration for August 15th: ‘Human Behavior’ by Bjork

they’re terribly moody 
then all of a sudden turn happy
but, oh, to get involved in the exchange
of human emotions is ever so satisfying

Human Behavior, Bjork 1993

Released 19 years ago this summer, ‘Human Behavior’ kicked off a solo music career for Bjork wherein she has often placed her wise , lyrical observations beneath the striking visual and production stylings. Icelandic pixie Bjork might not be everyone’s cup of musical tea but I think most of us can agree with the sentiment behind  the song. Part spooky fairy tale, part thumping dance song, all Bjork, ‘Human Behavior’ both coyly rolls its eyes at and delights in the silly ways people conduct themselves. The sparse but thoughtful lyrics start off with a bang when she opens the song by saying, “If you ever get close to a human and human behaviour, be ready to get confused.” Bjork sings wat we’ve all thought from time to time: people are a pain in the ass and yet that is the very thing is which makes them enjoyable.

We started off the week talking about embracing our monsters so it seems rather fitting our mid-week inspiration has to do with accepting and celebrating others just as they are. This is something I’m practicing a lot lately. Despite my knowing the best possible way for people to live their lives, people continue to do their own thing. How dare they! The bastards! So I enjoy people more if I love them for who they are and not hate them for who they aren’t. I’ll continue that practice today and celebrate all parts of human behavior, including my own. Also, as I write today I’ll keep Bjork’s innovation and creativity in mind and try to come up with my own genius observations on human behavior.

2 thoughts on “Inspiration for August 15th: ‘Human Behavior’ by Bjork

  1. Oh God, already 19 years!!!! I remember listening to that song when I was about 10….but didn’t really pay attention to the lyrics at that time…. They make so much sense now! And it’s still SO good even after all those years!!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Comments are closed.