Blog for Mental Health 2012

Blog for Mental Health 2012

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma. 

Thank you, Jen the brilliant and brutually honest creator of Step on a Crack for recommending I take the pledge. We’ve just started reading one another’s work. I feel like we speak the same language and we’re literally in the same neighborhood! I think speaking my truth about my experience with drug addcition, alcoholism, depression and HIV is the only way I get better and hopefully it helps others too. I started using drugs and drinking at age 13 and did not stop until I was 36. I hope all the time spent being an  insane hot mess and my recovery therefrom can benefit others. Or I hope I can make them laugh for two minutes. Either way, ur the inspiration, is a success. I hope to continue to get better and to share when I don’t feel so great. So here’s to being miracles of mental health in 2012!

– Sean

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2012

  1. You’re right; there IS a stigma when it comes to mental health issues, but I think it’s much more “accepted” now than in times past. So many people have needed or at least used therapy of some sort in these times in which we live. Including myself. Hopefully your posts will knock off some more of the stigma associated with it all.

    • Agreed, Fox. It’s all about talking about it and continuing to have the conversation. Addiction and mental illness don’t get better when hidden or ignored. Quite the opposite in fact. I’m certainly not an expert and can only relay my experience. And hopefully that helps.

Comments are closed.