Sparkleholic

I love this time of year. The competition. The tight races. The close calls. I’m not talking football but AWARDS SEASON!! Duh. I’ve loved the Oscars and every awards show since I was a kid. But anything sparkly always held my gaze. I dressed up as Wonder Woman in kindergarten. I dumped loads of glitter on my tree topper angel we made in 1st grade, much to the dismay of my Catholic school art teacher. Anything that was  beautiful and spectacular from the Miss USA pageant to Gone with the Wind, completely captivated me as a kid.  Because long before I was addicted to drugs and alcohol, I was addicted to shiny.

As a kid growing up in Denver in the 1970’s and 80’s in a charming urban old school neighborhood, glamour wasn’t something that usually stumbled down my street. Thankfully, television and pop culture provided what Denver couldn’t. Charlie’s Angels, Wonder Woman and the Muppet Show were the main sources of inspiration. But reruns of That Girl, Bewitched,  and Josie and the Pussycats fit the bill nicely too. Yet nothing compared to the Oscars. The Oscars were a time when every famous person got dressed up to celebrate my real true childhood love: movies. Movies were the ultimate in sparkly. They had  the instant ability to take me away from my day-to-day and put me in another world. My parents supported my love of movies, books, art and- God bless them- Strawberry Shortcake.  But life in an alcoholic home ain’t a walk in the park so movies and fantasy weren’t just a good time. They literally saved my life. I had a place to run to that was all Madonna songs ,scratch and sniff stickers, Pound puppies and old movies-24 hours a day. And the ugly stuff could simply disappear.

When I found alcohol and drugs and nightclubs and raves, it was as if the fantasy life never had to end. Dressed in glitter covered vinyl and boas and more sparkly t-shirts, my friends and I were the 90’s personified. We partied at clubs with Courtney Love and George Michael. We crashed movie parties and guzzled down free cocktails. We never paid to get in anywhere. But then you do that life 7 days a week and soon you’ve done it. And before you know it, your late 20s and early 30s have arrived and the party has moved from hipster dive bars into your living room. Seven nights a week and sometimes alone. Soon, sparkly is the last word anybody would use to describe your life.

Getting sober put me through the ringer and I wasn’t too worried about chasing fabulous anymore. That first year, I didn’t care about the Oscars and I barely went to the movies. But today I love the movies and can now remember what I’ve seen-always a bonus! I can’t wait to watch the Golden Globes tonight and the Oscars next month.  I admit a little temporary escape isn’t the worst thing and neither is the real world. My life, when I actually look at it, sparkles and glitters with amazing gifts- like a family who loves me, a healthy relationship and a  rich spiritual life.  And that is truly fabulous.

8 thoughts on “Sparkleholic

  1. You grew up in South Park! I have an on-again-off-again relationship with films, but I can understand the allure, and I’m glad you have that outlet. I think I’d die without t.v.!

    • Totally grew up in the land of South Park and my first job was at, wait for it…. CASA BONITA!! I kid you not, my friend. Cliff divers, monkey costumed teens, bad mexican food and magic shows. Sad but true.
      I’m a tv junkie too. Although we only watch online these days which is really the same thing. But it feels like I watch less from my old two dvr household days.

  2. OH my! Thank the GODDESS (Madonna? Lady Gaga? Bowie? Patti Smith?) for this small FABULOUS Earth we live on! I grew up here too LIVING for the once yearly trip to Casa Bonita. I know that my parents loved it for the cheap booze. Too bad I am sober now as I suffer through the yearly trip with my Kid.

    I SWEAR that monkey suit is the very same we saw as kids. That thing is NASTY!

    Did you see the CNN story about the little girl in town who is actually a boy and just wants to be in the girl scouts (they won’t let her because she is a ‘boy’)? Her name is Bobby and she lives 3 houses down from us. Everyone on the block and in the neighborhood supports her 100% and MAN! This post reminds me of Bobby! She loves to get her sparkle on! You should see her sparkly Barbie bike and her amazing gold sparkly go-go boots.

    life is amazing Yes?

    Peace and Sparkles, Jen

    • I know-that story touched my heart for sure. I thankfully never wrestled with gender issues but certainly paid the price for being a little too fabulous for your average little boy in the 70s and 80s. So her story is a sad but resilient one. Much like our goddesses, you pay the price for being yourself and in the end, that high price is a bargain compared to selling yourself short.
      Love that you’re from “the hood”too. We old skool Denverites are a rare and vanishing breed. PS- your experience, strength and hope over on your blog is amazing and really blows me away.

      glitter hearts,
      Sean

      • NATIVE

        Yes Sir. Thank you for the kind words and right back at ya.

        Bobby is an amazing kid. Her mother is an amazing woman. Bobby is growing up in a family that people would assume would NOT support her. It is inspiring. Her family leads the way for Bobby. I love my block for its community and our ability to actually be community in the midst of god awful gentrification. I am grateful to live in my little slice of heaven.

        Peace to you, j

  3. I love your blog. Not gonna lie, just love it. If your blog was a person I would take it out for coffee (and we could both secretly wish it was wine).

    In other news, have you seen the OMG fantastic movie Velvet Goldmine? I was just introduced by a friend and am in glitter-glamrock love. Check it out and let me know what you think… 🙂

    • My blog would definitely go for coffee with you that’s because my blog’s a whore. lol. Yeah I love Velvet Goldmine!!! It’s amazing. Plus Toni Colette and Ewan McGregor?!? How can you go wrong. It’s a glitter-tastic film and it rocks.

Leave a Reply

